Dear Hard Work

Dear Hard Work,

      I used to hate you. When you called my name, I heard it but ran away from you. When I knew you were coming, I used to hide from you. When you influenced others to talk to me, I quickly made excuses to get away from you. Afraid of the pain, because I didn’t want to get hurt. Afraid to fail so I didn’t even try. And afraid of your name, because of what you’ve done to others. Who do you think you are? Making me so afraid of who you are. A reflection in the mirror. Shadow behind me. I take five steps forward and you’re still ahead of me. Sweat in my face. Tears in my eyes. I keep on going. I heard you tell no lies. You turn the poor to rich. “F”s to “A”s. Is there anything you cant do? Now look at me. You’ve made me who I am today. And because of you, I have this ‘never losing’ ; ‘never giving up’ attitude. Quitting? That’s not in my vocabulary. When they quit, I keep going. When they sleep, I work harder. When they say that I cant and count me out, I show them that I can. When I tell them about my dreams and they laugh, I make sure that I laugh last. I’m a Dream-Chaser. That means I chase MY dream. No one else’s. Only I can defeat me. Its me against this work you put on me. There’s no losing. I WILL NOT LOSE! I came this far and I’m not stopping now.

   Oh Hard Work, my grandmother was right about you. You do pay off. Not because of what I achieve at your end but who I become in the process. I love you. How can I not? I’m no longer hiding from you. As a matter of fact, I’m waiting for you….now that I think about it…….you’re late….where are you? I need you. Because in Hard Work I trust.

Love,
     G

Leave a Reply

