Does it really work or is it really just not meant for me?

As many of you know, I write this blog; a couple of online magazines; run several informational social media pages for entrepreneurs, innovators and small business owners. I do this in hopes of inspiring, equipping, challenging and encouraging others to live their dreams and not their obligations. 

I am also an entrepreneur and independent business owner. I am an investment and life insurance broker, which is my passion. I have affiliate partnerships with United Games, a green health and wellness company and in real estate.

 I don’t list these businesses to “toot” my own horn… (I’m grinding harder than I ever have, long days, long hours) I only list these to illustrate what I do in the course of a day and to bring me to this question.

I was recently challenged by someone about the amount of positive posts; information; articles and otherwise beneficial content I put out. They very unassumingly asked,

 “Why put so much time and energy into something that doesn’t pay you? You could be making so much more money if you put that energy into the things that pay you.”

Therein lies the crust of my quandry. You see, I’ve been raised to believe in the principle of sowing and reaping. 

If everything you do, you do it for what you can get out it, you will rarely benefit.

The freedom I’ve worked for was to be more availiable to my family, my community, my church and to society.

Speaking to the amount of content I publish….someone published content for free that changed my belief about what I could accomplish. I read the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho for free. Because someone thought it may benefit someone. I listen to Gary Vaynerchuk , Grant Cardone , Eric Thomas and Les Brown for free everyday…..because someone chose to sow into me without recieving a dime from me. 

This is what I’ve always believed. 

My heart has always been to emulate those who have so freely sown into my life. For me, it’s the real life execution of 

Galatians 6:7-9King James Version (KJV)

Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

Quite simply, it says “well doing” not “making money doing”.

Now I have to interject for those who think I’m proposing that “being poor” is following biblical principle. Absolutely not! I believe that wealth is a by product of living out your purpose fully and completely.

But…..

“None of those encouraging posts on InstagramFacebookTwitterPinterestLinkedIn, the website….put food on your table or pay any of your bills.”

This is what I hear from many around me.

Now my mentors say, “stop talking to and stop listening to people that don’t share your passions”

Yet, have you ever been working on a dream so long that you start to wonder if you aren’t meant to accomplish it? Maybe you chose to fall in love with the wrong dream? 

Is it intelligence to pivot in the face of meager results or is it just a plain lack of faith, determination and intestinal fortitude that forces a pivot?

Where’s the line? Kentucky Fried Chicken was started on the back of suicide note and will. Thomas Edison spent 10,000+ tests to finally make filament glow. I won’t recount the 1000s of stories of now successful entrepreneurs who won despite years of failure after failure. 

What we never hear about are those entrepreneurs who tried everything only to discover they were not meant to own their own business. Yes, they do exist.

It honestly boils down to this choice: Are you willing to accept a life of no consequence that is completely self absorbed, benefiting no one but yourself OR Are you willing to risk losing it all to live a life that changes the world?

Spend your life chasing greatness possibly never reaching it…

Or:

Spend your life never attempting anything meaningful outside of yourself and convincing your heart that mediocre/average is the best you could hope for.

Honestly folks…..I’m not convinced of either. I’m not 100% sure what I’m doing is it. My Purpose. I’m not sure I’m not meant to just to be average. Never to do very much in the world. Not to be remembered for much. Good dad, good husband, good son, good friend, good neighbor….you know, the stuff everybody does and says about everyone when they die. Nothing special. 

But what I am sure of is this:

I can not die…and never give 100% in trying….

If that makes me a fool, irresponsible, hard headed and unworthy of friendships, relationships and or opportunities……then I can live with that.

Talk to me guys…..what are your feelings on the line of when to quit, pivot, or throw in the towel? 

Share some of your experiences….


Leave a Reply

