What is an Entrepreneur?

The age old question: “What is an entrepreneur? ” 

So loosely defined by our society…

It’s suddenly “cool” to be an entrepreneur, a VC, a startup, etc.

Everybody wants to wear the “entrepreneur” jersey ….
It says “risk taker“, “I accomplish the impossible daily“; “I win against the odds“; “you can cheer for me

that’s the rhetoric we read hear and ascribe to…..but what does that word really mean 

Moreover, am I it?
Here are a few of my favorite definitions of what is an entrepreneur by various successful CEO

To me, entrepreneurship is completely dedicating yourself to creating something out of nothing. It’s not simply taking a risk and hoping to realize big rewards. Creating something out of nothing also tends to present numerous challenges and roadblocks which seem insurmountable. I believe the great entrepreneurs, who I look up to, can help their team push through those roadblocks and find solutions.” –David Greenberg, CEO of Updater

“Entrepreneurship is the mind-set that allows you to see opportunity everywhere. It could be a business idea, but it could also be seeing the possibilities in the people that can help you grow that business. This ability to see many options in every situation is critically important; there will be unending challenges that will test your hustle.” – Preeti Sriratana, co-founder and CEO of Sweeten


Now, most of you know of my mentor Gary Vaynerchuk of Vayner Media and Wine Library, and how I believe he is one of the most spectacular examples of entrepreneurship……soooooo of course we must have the opinion of a man who took a 5 million business and turned it into a 50+ million dollar business in 5 years…all via Youtube!

Here’s his list of attributes of entrepreneurship that worked for him. (Success always leaves clues)

“I have never worried about the bottom line. I have always focused on the top-line revenue.

I have never been on the defense. I have always been on the offense.

Speed has always been more valuable to me than profit. It was always about growing the base, growing the company, and moving quickly.

I NEVER CARED WHAT MY PARENTS OR TEACHERS THOUGHT.

I always paid my dues. The amount of 23-25 year old entrepreneurs who are being introspective right now is laughable. I never worried about the short-term effects on my life because I just knew there was no other choice. With me there was only one gear.

I never cared what my friends thought.

I never once envied anybody. I couldn’t have cared less about any 27-year-old contemporary who worked on Wall St. and make $200k and drove some f*****g fancy car. 

I ALWAYS WANTED TO BEAT EVERYBODY. (EVEN DEAR FRIENDS)

I always thought of entrepreneurship as war.Kendrick Lamar speaks to my soul. I always wanted everybody I competed with to succeed… as long as I succeeded a little bit more than they did.

I always wanted legacy. I was always concerned with how I’d be looked at in the long term. I wanted entrepreneurs to read about me in schools one day.

I HAD A LOT OF PATIENCE. (STILL DO)

I felt zero entitlement. I think one of the things that most attracted me to entrepreneurship was that nobody was entitled to anything. 

I don’t like stuff. Matter of fact, I hate stuff. I don’t want planes. I don’t want cars. I don’t want watches. I don’t do it for any of that stuff. I prefer to be underestimated. I love it. I prefer the climb. Starting over is attractive, not a negative.


Let’s watch this video and see how we truthfully measure up….

https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=QWQiLRu7qoM

Now, it’s not enough to  know the definition and what it entails….

The question of the day is:

What are you going to do about it?


No post or blog is worth a crap if it doesn’t call you to action….so here’s your homework:

Look at Gary’s list….review the video…..write these down, then put a check beside the ones you believe are true of your pysche.

Then look at the ones that are unchecked…..and decide:

Is entrepreneurship worth the pain of making this change? 

Entrepreneurs aren’t born…..

They are developed …..

Write in the comments what you are willing and ready to change today and the time frame you’re committing to…

We are 7FDHustleNation and we are committed to your change. 

Leave a Reply

